2009 Annual Meeting Highlights

The third Annual Meeting of the National Society of Certified Healthcare Business Consultants was held June 17 - 20, 2009 at The Westin Gaslamp Quarter in San Diego, California. Over 150 attendees, vendors, spouses and guests participated in an excellent educational and networking opportunity. Here are just a few of the many highlights from that week:

NSCHBC members appointed Gray Tuttle as President, Kathy Moghadas as President-Elect and Dave Hunt as Secretary-Treasurer. Former President Rex Stanley will continue to serve on the Executive Board as Immediate Past-President.

NSCHBC members elected and installed the 2009-2010 Board of Directors.

Rex Stanley was honored by incoming President Gray Tuttle for his leadership during the Society's third year.

Stephen Leary was awarded the Zeke Gourley Award for his contributions to the organization.

Merikay Tillman was awarded the Leonard Schwartz Go-Getter Award for her contributions to the organization.

Additionally, the 2008-2009 Committee Chairs were also honored. They include:

Maxine Lewis, CMM, CPC, CPC-I, CCS-P
Bylaws Committee Co-Chair

Kathryn I. Moghadas, RN, CLHRM, CHBC, CHCC, CPC
Bylaws Committee Co-Chair

Scott R. Flickema, CHBC, CPA
Certification Committee Chair

Raymond Monteleone, CPA, MBA
Education Committee Chair

Keith Borglum, CHBC
Marketing Committee Chair

David E. Hunt, CHBC
Membership Committee Co-Chair

Stephen J. Leary, CHBC, EA
Membership Committee Co-Chair

Michael Brown, CHBC
Member Services Committee Chair

Joseph M. Cobo, CHBC, CMC
Nominating Committee Chair

J. Gray Tuttle, CHBC
Planning Committee Chair

Robert Gray, EA, CHBC
Statistics Committee Co-Chair

J. Gray Tuttle, CHBC
Statistics Committee Co-Chair

Allen D. Stroud, CHBC, CSC, AVA
Vendor Committee Chair

Michael Wiley succeeds Scott Flickema as head of the certification committee.

Eleven new members were voted into the Society. They include:

  • Marc Bailey, MBA
  • James Best, MBA, CPM, CPIM, CIRM, CHBC
  • Steven G. Bowers, CPA
  • Michael Brosius
  • Jacqueline G. Coult
  • Mary Frances Krantz, CPA, CHBC
  • Garland W. Mahan, Jr., CHBC
  • Christopher Majdi, CHBC
  • Dr. Ashish Roy, MBBS, MHA
  • James Royster, CHBC
  • Curtis C. White, CHBC

Special thanks are in order to the vendors that attended our meeting:

AdvancedMD Software (Conference Sponsor Only)
Allscripts (Conference Sponsor)
Areté Sleep Health
athenahealth, Inc. (Conference Sponsor)
CCA Medical
Gateway EDI, LLC
Healthpac Computer Systems, Inc.
Kemper Cost Management, Inc. (Conference Sponsor)
MAG Mutual Healthcare Solutions, Inc.
PMCA Liability Insurance, Ltd.
ProAssurance Group
Pulse Systems, Inc.

2009 Annual Meeting Photos